Applications Accepted Now!

The Dubuque Police Department is currently accepting applications for CRO interns. 

View more details and apply!

Community Resource Officers

In 2011, the Dubuque Police Department implemented an internship program designed to be more inclusive, comprehensive, and practical than that of traditional ride-along based internships.  The Community Resource Officer (CRO) paid internship is designed to provide participants with experience in all aspects of the Department, including, but not limited to working with the Patrol Division, Community Policing Unit, and attending community events and meetings.  Participants are issued a CRO uniform, equipment, and provided training to formalize and enhance the program experience. Several past participants who completed the CRO Internship Program are now Dubuque police officers, while some others went on to work for Jule Transit and as an emergency communications dispatcher.

2022 CROs

2022 Community Resource Officers

Traditional Internship Program

The Dubuque Police Department also continues to offer a more traditional (unpaid) internship program comprised primarily of interns riding with patrol officers as required or encouraged by his or her college.  Interns experience what a patrol officer does on a daily basis and are often required to complete a report as part of their college coursework.

Contact Us

  1. Captain Scott Baxter

    Support Services Division