City of Dubuque News Release

Dubuque Receives 2018 Tree City USA Award

Emma Hanigan, Iowa DNR, 515.249.1732
Marie Ware, City of Dubuque, 563.589.4263

May 6, 2019 -- For Immediate Release

DES MOINES – The City of Dubuque was recently honored with the 2018 Tree City USA Award at the 29th Annual Community Forestry Awards Luncheon in Des Moines. The award was presented in April by the Arbor Day Foundation and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. 
“The Tree City USA award is a symbol for communities who have made a commitment to the management of public trees,” says state forester Jeff Goerndt. “The City of Dubuque has provided an outstanding example for other Iowa communities by enhancing our forest resources and demonstrating the great value of trees in providing multiple benefits for future generations.”
Dubuque was one of 80 Iowa communities to qualify for Tree City USA status. To receive the award, a city must, at a minimum, have either a city forester or an active city tree board; have a tree ordinance; spend at least $2 per capita annually for its community forestry program; and have a tree planting and maintenance plan. 

“The Dubuque City Council’s commitment to the urban forestry department as well as partnerships like our Dubuque Trees Forever partnership were key to receiving the Tree City USA certification again this year,” said City of Dubuque Leisure Services Manager Marie Ware.  “We appreciate all the volunteers that have assisted in projects in 2018!”

# # # 

Please do not reply to this message.  If you would like additional information on this issue, please contact the staff person identified at the top of the message or contact the City of Dubuque Public Information Office at or 563.589.4151.

Photo of 2018 Tree City USA Award Presentation
 L-R: State Forester Jeff Goerndt and Iowa Dept. of Natural Resources Acting Director Bruce Trautman present the 2018 Tree City USA Award to City of Dubuque staff Urban Forester Tom Kramer and Forestry Technician Barb Liska of the City's Leisure Services Department.
Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus